RSS Feed

It’s been awhile…

Posted on

What is it they say about life, it’s been a wild ride. On this rollercoaster I am on the hill heading back up again with hopes the next valley is not so far down. So on the upside, I have moved. Not far but my new place is bigger and cost less. I miss being close to the pool but we have a wonderful view of the lake facing east which my garden just loves. I started a temp job that just turned permanent. I started my own business consulting and made two proposals the week before and two bids now to submit (today). 

Lil dog is doing fine although he is going through anxiety between the move and me returning to work full time. The dog walker starts on Monday. The knee still pains me but I can walk without a limp now. There are even days when it doesn’t hurt at all! Doc says I need surgery but that will have to wait, too expensive.

I have been looking in on each of you. Special thanks to Seth who left me notes and comments even when I was MIA. Thanks to Beth and Mail Lady, Spaces friends who kept me connected. And a big warm thanks to all of you that kept me in their thoughts and prayers. I only have limited internet now and when I do it takes forever. Hoping to change that soon since I need it for the new jobs.

 

As those who have known my blog for some time know that I love to post those great email stories that I receive. I’ve seen this one so many times but thanks to Duckie, who sent it to me today, it seemed like a good come back piece.

So, in the true Rosebay tradition:

This is one of the kindest things you may ever see. It is not known who replied, but there is a beautiful soul working in the dead letter office of the   US postal service.

Our 14 year old dog, Abbey, died last month. The day after she died, my 4 year old daughter Meredith was crying and talking about how much she missed Abbey. She asked if we could write a letter to God so that when Abbey got to heaven, God would recognize her. I told her that I thought we could so she dictated these words:

 

Dear God,

Will you please take care of my dog? She died yesterday and is with you in heaven. I miss her very much. I am happy that you let me have her as my dog even though she got sick.

I hope you will play with her. She likes to play with balls and to swim.

I am sending a picture of her so when you see her You will know that she is my dog. I really miss her.

Love, Meredith

 

We put the letter in an envelope with a picture of Abbey and Meredith and addressed it to God/Heaven. We put our return address on it. Then Meredith pasted several stamps on the front of the envelope because she said it would take lots of stamps to get the letter all the way to heaven. That afternoon she dropped it into the letter box at the post office. A few days later, she asked if God had gotten the letter yet. I told her that I thought He had.

Yesterday, there was a package wrapped in gold paper on our front porch addressed, ‘To Meredith’ in an unfamiliar hand. Meredith opened it. Inside was a book by Mr. Rogers called, ‘When a Pet Dies..’ Taped to the inside front cover was the letter we had written to God in its opened envelope. On the opposite page was the picture of Abbey & Meredith and this note:

 

Dear Meredith,

Abbey arrived safely in heaven. Having the picture was a big help. I recognized Abbey right away. Abbey isn’t sick anymore. Her spirit is here with me just like it stays in your heart. Abbey loved being your dog. Since we don’t need our bodies in heaven, I don’t have any pockets to keep your picture in, so I am sending it back to you in this little book for you to keep and have something to remember Abbey by.

Thank you for the beautiful letter and thank your mother for helping you write it and sending it to me. What a wonderful mother you have. I picked her especially for you.

I send my blessings every day and remember that I love you very much.

By the way, I’m easy to find, I am wherever there is love.

Love,

God

13 responses »

  1. It is wonderful to see a post from you. I am so glad that you have good news for us about your move, your health and a new job. Best of luck in your new consulting business.Hugs,Beth

    Reply
  2. Happy to see you back on an upswing.

    Reply
  3. Glad to see you again. Happy for your good news. Lil Dog will adjust real soon and will love being in a bigger place. Loved the story. Had never seen it before.Hugs

    Reply
  4. Glad you\’re back. We missed you. Glad you have a good job again.

    Reply
  5. What a kind thing for someone to have done for Meredith. They say there aren\’t many people around like that anymore, but I don\’t believe that. I\’ve met loads of lovely people rom all walks of life. Where would any of us be without them?Good on the job, bad on the knee. If the pain gets a bit much, I strap mine up. That helps a lot. Give it a try! Lovely blog, Rosebay.

    Reply
  6. Hey! Good to hear from you! I have read that story before, but it still warms my heart. Glad to hear about the success with the job! I\’m sure you\’ll do very well! Love the picture of Lil\’ Dog! ; ) He\’ll adjust, he just has a bigger castle to protect! Sounds like the knee is adjusting also, or are you just adjusting to the pain? Hmmm? Anyway, I\’ve given you all my amature doctor advice, so keep doin\’ what you doin\’!! Have a great weekend!

    Reply
  7. ╰☆Chloe☆╮

    Good to see you again.;)Good story.So touching!

    Reply
  8. I have read that story but it brought the same sting of tears all over again when I re-read it here with the dear picture as well. It is a sweet generous thing that someone on the post office did. Makes my evening just reading it.I am SO glad you have a job! HOORAY! AND that things seem to be going so well. I sympathize about the knee as both mine are also bad but yours is worse. Thank goodness it feels some better now for you.So glad to hear from you..and I hope for continued success for you Wendy. (((HUGS)))

    Reply
  9. Cool. Glad you\’re back and glad things are looking up for you.

    Reply
  10. I just love that story. Lil Dog will get adjusted soon I just know it and will loveyou with the whole heart. 🙂

    Reply
  11. That story always gets to me. No matter how many times you read it, it brings tears to your eyes. Little dog with get her bearings soon and settle in nicely. Praying the uphill climb is just a little rise. Hugs

    Reply
  12. I love that story. It goes around every year at the Post Office. Sounds like your doing well. Glad the job thing worked out for you. Lil dog has the most soulful eyes! Great picture!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

