RSS Feed

A rose by any other name

I was recently on a forum and the question was asked “How did you get your pet’s name?” So I started thinking about names. Lil dog, as I commonly refer to him, name is Jaegermeister. When I tell people his name they usually smile at me with that knowing grin as we all think about the drink. And yes, that was part of it but not the whole reason. My first consideration was that I wanted a good German name for my German breed. Big dog’s name was Max and he was a Weimaraner. So I had a big German dog and a lil German dog.

Translated literally, Jägermeister means “hunt-master,” combining Jäger (hunter) and Meister (master, in the sense of an accomplished professional). If you know the dachshund breed, they are a hunting breed originally trained to hunt badgers. Dachshunds were first bred in the early 1600s in Germany. The goal was to create a fearless, elongated dog that could dig the earth from a badger burrow and fight to the death with the vicious badgers. They can actually dig a foot and a half in one minute with their powerful, spade-like claws and strong feet.

Ok so back to my point of lil dogs name. Even when he was a pup he was an avid hunter. He will search for hours for his “prey” or as we call it “piggy”. When we go out to the field, often only part of him you will see is his tail up in the air as he borrows through the weeds.

The color of his coat is also of similar color as the drink. The reddish brown with the overlaying black coat makes for a nice rich color. Actually when my hair falls over him, our hair is almost the same color (not the black part though).  See the similarity? Yes, I love that dog.

Lil dog is a tough lil fellow. He is a big dog in a little dog body. He is not a yapper but has a strong bark that will have people passing by jump out of their skin (that’s entertainment folks – gosh I need to get out more). His walk is proud with his chest out and his head held high. His determined personality only adds to his likability. I have yet to meet anyone that doesn’t like him or anyone that he doesn’t like.

So there, my reasons for his name and the similarity to the drink (that I somewhat favor – story for another time):

  1. German name
  2. Master hunter
  3. Color
  4. Powerful impact
  5. Everyone loves Jaeger

One final interesting fact I learned while writing my reasons, it was originally brought back to American from Germany and made popular by Frank Sinatra.

So what about Rosebay? Any guesses? Where did you get your pet’s name? Or better yet, if you are using a name on your blog, where did it come from?

BTW- Rosebay is another name for Oleander which is a very popular plant here in Florida with pretty blooms and is also very poisonous. I thought it fit.

23 responses »

  1. That was really interesting. My dogs had names when we got them. I don\’t know where they came from. Have a great day Hugs to you and may God bless

    Reply
  2. My cat "Gabby" is so named because even in her sleep she meows. She was an abandoned kitten, not old enough to be away from her momma, when I rescued her from the side of the road where she was dumped. I think she just thinks she needs to cry all the time because she\’s is afraid if she doesn\’t she\’ll be left behind."Spot" got her name, unusual for a cat, quite by accident. She was a 2 year old stray when I rescued her. I took her home and as she wandered around my house, I called to her using several traditional kitty names, but received no response. So, I switched to dog names and met with no response until I called out Spot.

    Reply
  3. Great post, I love that you thougth about his name so thoroughly. Give lil dog a hug!Danielle

    Reply
  4. Can\’t begin to guess where you got your name. I knew Oleander is poisonous, I read a book once where the women used it to kill her husband. Darn wish I could remember the title now.Have a great day Rosebay.HugsSherry

    Reply
  5. I call Bianca, (aka Miss Catt), her name because she is a rescue cat (she was about 4 minths old when I got her..or she got me..we got us!) and that was what she had been named…Lady Bianca. So while that is her name, my sons hate the name and call her Hester. *shrugs*(((HUGS)))

    Reply
  6. When my son got his golden retriever as a puppy he searched for the perfect name and finally settled on Molly. He really loved Molly and misses her terribly.

    Reply
  7. I named one of my first cats Thomas Steven Crown McQueen because I was crushing on Steve. My mom and dad thought the name was ludicrous. Thanks for post.

    Reply
  8. Well, Gunner, we got from the Bob and Tom show. And Rigley started out as our sonsdog, which of course is named after Wrigley Field. I cut out the "w" cuz I\’m not a Cubsfan. LOL Enjoy your day.Darla

    Reply
  9. We had one dog names "Doobie". Our son was real little and had no understand of hippies and what it meant but that\’s what he named him. The other one he had was Ripken as he was an Oriole fan at the time and like Cal Ripken jr. Maybe I\’ll put in a blod about one of them or both one of these days.Hugs

    Reply
  10. lets see in no particular order……Peaches-Dogs color, Sambo-Dogs color (Back in the 60s id get shot for it today) Radar- from MASH, Mindy from Mork & Mindy, and my current Siamese is LB short for Lil BooBoo for no real reason at all. Nice post.

    Reply
  11. Oh, I forgot. My mother loved the name Terry so she decided I would be a Terry whether I was a boy or girl. Glad I\’m a girl, prefer Theresa over Terrance, lol. Okay I\’m done now.

    Reply
  12. I like Oleander; so I guess I like Roasebay too. What shall I name my 3 feral cats? Maybe nothing.

    Reply
  13. cute picture of you and your little dog! Well, I was named after my great aunt Charlotte, whom I never knew, and a cousin of my dad\’s Mae who died young from cancer. so…. lottemae for my blog name.. how\’s your knee doing? hugs, lottemae

    Reply
  14. Great post dear friend, i always like it when i read a post, and learn something new !!! Love the picture of you and your dog very cute !!!

    Reply
  15. We named our dog Patsy after the charictor in the series Absolutly Fabulous – the original brittish version that is. I believe the US is going to do a remake of it… which is sad really – some things shouldn\’t be spoiled with remakes.I hope you are doing well and that things are looking up on the job side of things.

    Reply
  16. I really wish I had a pet so I could regale you with why I named it such and such. I did, however, enjoy reading this entry though.On a completely different topic, I am freezing tonight. Hopefully you\’re bundling up yourself. I can\’t wait for these winter blast to stop coming down this far.BP

    Reply
  17. when i first married we had a cat called sophie then… another called seigfried nothing to do with wagner but named after a cactus plant she had when a child …but chating about it just now i was asked who wagner was…!!!erm a composer of music from germany

    Reply
  18. I have no pets… normally I call them dates. Bwahahaha! My buddy has this cat. Aaaargh! This cat is addicted to the fax machine. You see, my buddy works from home… and the cat slowly learned the sound of the fax machine and that after it beeped it would feed out a fax. The cat started coming when the fax beeped and grabbing the fax and running through the house with it (away from my buddy who would occassionally be chasing for an important document). He would then proceed to shred the fax to little pieces. It has progressed to the point where he now stands on the fax and presses buttons until it feeds out a piece of paper for him to shred!I think that you chose the perfect name for Lil Dog! :o) And by the way, I like the name Rosebay.

    Reply
  19. Oh~My friend, I\’m back~long time have not to use MSNspacesCos..Cos it has been changed,and I get confused…and no spare timeNow it\’s a new beginning~Our Spring Festival has just gone away…And a new semester is waiting for me~go~go~come on~

    Reply
  20. Hi Rose, Just stopping in to check on you. Haven\’t seen you around for awhile. Hope all is well.HugsSherry

    Reply
  21. I loved this blog, the information included, and how Lil dog got his name!

    Reply
  22. Great blog! My name is not very inventive but oddly enough I have an Oleander bush that I move in and out of the house seasonally. Beautiful big pink blossoms. Have you ever seen the movie "White Oleander"? Kinda freaky, but interesting. ; ) You know I love lil dog.

    Reply
  23. SETH (1) Gender: Masculine Usage: Biblical, English Means "placed" or "appointed" in Hebrew. In the Old Testament he was the third named son of Adam and Eve.SETH (2) Gender: Masculine Usage: Egyptian Mythology (Hellenized) From Σεθως (Sethos), the Greek form of Egyptian Sutekh or Set, which possibly meant "pillar" or "dazzle". Seth was the evil Egyptian god of chaos and the desert, the slayer of Osiris."god of chaos " ……… I think my parents were making a prediction of my future. Bwahahaha!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

