RSS Feed

Strawberries, Snow and Super Bowl

 

Well we have had some cold temps here in Florida this past week. It’s a glorious 70 degrees right now and I’m loving it!

You may have seen the photos of the strawberry fields being frozen over on the news this week. The farmers do this to protect the berries during a freeze. Although it was cold enough for snow, the was no moisture in the air to produce snow. That doesn’t mean it hasn’t happen.

In 1977 was the last time, and one of the few times, that the Tampa Bay area saw measurable snow. I was in high school and remember it as the only “snow” day ever. The schools are open air and the heaters didn’t work so we had a snow day. Still, it’s funny to get up in the morning and see the lawn all white with frost. We had two mornings of frost this past week. Lil dog didn’t even seem to notice any difference and just hopped through the grass as normal. Me, I was freezing my hinny off. I don’t own a real winter coat and rely on my sweatshirts for warmth. I wore two of them.

We are gearing up for the Super Bowl party here in Tampa Bay. This will be the second time the Super bowl hit our stadium. This next week or two is going to be crazy around here. People are renting out their homes and apartments to visitors coming to see the game. This is combined with our annual Gasparilla Festival. This past weekend, it kicked off with the children’s parade. I’ll tell you more about Gasparilla in the coming weeks. It’s a fun time with pirates and invasions, beads and parades.

I did have an interview this past week. It went well and I was then sent five essay questions to answer and send back. I thought this was a bit strange but I answered them none the less and sent it back and now await for the second interview. I also spent three full days in training for a volunteer position. I am now a certified domestic violence advocate. Next Wednesday I will attend my first court date in this new position. The training was grueling although not as graphic as you might have thought. Just long days returning home worn out by all the information. This link is to one of the videos we watched during training. It has Stevie Wonder singing also:

Talking about YouTube – Babyface – How Come, How Long
Babyface How Come, How Long(C) 1996 SONY BMG MUSIC ENTERTAINMENT

It’s been a long few days and I haven’t gotten around to visit at all, that’s my next plan. Have a great week ahead everyone.

20 responses »

  1. I hope you are able to get a job and I hope too that the strawberries have been saved as I love strawberries.The video is rather frightening. I hope you do well in your volunteer position.

    Reply
  2. Hey! How are you going? That picture of the frozen strawberry is very coolHAPPY AUSTRALIA DAY!!!!!!!AND HAPPY CHINESE NEW YEAR!xoxo Lozza

    Reply
  3. thank you for sharing. I\’m still in prayer for you a job. Hugs to you and may God bless

    Reply
  4. Hi – good description of the Florida snow day. It was before I moved here, but I heard about it. Have fun with your Super Bowl activities. I\’m a Steelers fan. Yes, I\’m also glad we\’re back into the 70\’s. That last cold spell was too cold and too long!

    Reply
  5. Oh! Congrats on your certification! It would look good in your resume. For now at least you are doing something with your time and it is very meaningful. I hope you are very successful in helping people. They need a lot of good advocates. I hope the strawberries survive the cold months. Or we will see a increase in prices. Strawberries, cherries, blackberries, raspberries, oranges, and bluberries are the most expereince fruits here. Well, take care, and enjoy the activities and events.!

    Reply
  6. hi .whats a "certified domestic violence advocate" but congrats on the qualification i know you will do good with it are you tellin people that snow is in florida is a once in a lifetime thing and we talk about global warming..hope you have a good week xxdrew

    Reply
  7. ╰☆Chloe☆╮

    :)I love stawberry~~~Hope u have a good day!

    Reply
  8. Congratulations on the certification. The video is so sad and true. How you stop such things I haven\’t a clue but it sure needs to be done. Hope your essays get you that second interview and the job you want. I like football but frankly looking forward to having something else to do on weekends. Trouble is NASCAR starts and it\’s like pulling teeth to get Jack away from the tv then. Have a good day.Hugs

    Reply
  9. I was at Tampa one year for a Packer, Tampa Bay game. We won by the way lol. But I really feel the super bowl should be played at Lambeau. Wouldn\’t that be a trip lol, It\’s still below zero at night here. Wouldn\’t they love that eh.Ok have a great day kiddo and good luck with the interview.HugsSherry

    Reply
  10. All my years in Florida (I think I told you Palm bay and Melborne) were the best as far as beauty is comverned. I still miss it.

    Reply
  11. 70\’s sounds absolutely tropical to me right now! Come late spring and summer here I think we\’ve got about the best weather in the world but right now…not at all the case. Every day is a snow day pretty much here…temperature\’s at about 3 degrees with promise of thirties and forties by Friday…what a banana belt.

    Reply
  12. Good luck with your second interview. I don\’t think I\’d venture out in a city that was holding the Superbowl! Hope the farmers were able to save the strawberries. I love\’em! Have a great week, Wendy! Hugs

    Reply
  13. Could you please send some of that warm weather here before what will be our fourth snow storm hits some time Wednesday ?????

    Reply
  14. Oh sounds like paradize at 70 degrees. We\’re expecting more snow and my plants on balcony already bought it. Good, good luck with second interview.

    Reply
  15. 70 degrees sounds wonderful. I am sorry the weather was so cold for the crops… We in this North country depend on your fruit to keep us healthy during the winter… have a good one..hugs, lottemae

    Reply
  16. Off topic but loved your comment to me today. I wish I could wash them. But it is raining to beat the band. 😦

    Reply
  17. Wow… this morning here it was 18 degrees … it was just cold. Just think how many sweaters you would have to wear if you lived here!! LOL~ Good luck with the job search.. I am staying put for now.. just lucky and grateful to have a job!! Take care woman… it was great to hear from you again!Keep smiling~and virtual hugs of course!

    Reply
  18. Hi again, i have not used Twitter for a very long time have to get back to it i see a lot of Live bloggers are there . Here we are getting ready for another storm, but here on the coast we may only get rain .

    Reply
  19. I happened to notice a comment of yours and thought why not drop by. Since you live on the other side of the bay, I can truly relate to this entry. Today, Tuesday the 27th, was absolutely gorgeous. Even I was wearing a nice thin shirt and riding around as much as possible.When you get an opportunity, drop by and say hello.Billy Paul from New Tampa

    Reply
  20. Strawberries! I love strawberries covered in chocolate… and I like strawberry jelly and just about anything made out of strawberry..oh and I like plain strawberries too! :o) I can eat strawberries any which way. Sometimes I can be a real rebel… I don\’t always wash them. I just brush off any dirt and pop them in my mouth. Glad to hear that your interview went well. You will have to keep us informed. "… a certified domestic violence advocate…" CONGRATULATIONS! Happy for you. Here\’s hoping that all is going well with you and that this week… is off to a smooth start.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

