RSS Feed

Lion in the mirror

How do you see yourself this coming year?

Every year I look at this picture and wonder… Am I the kitten or the lion? New Years is a time for reflection on the past as well as hopes for the future.

2008 is almost gone and for that, I am glad. This was not my year. 2009 doesn’t look much better as the future is very uncertain for me. Will I ever find a job I like again? Will the knee get better, need surgery or will I forever limp? Is there such thing as love?  My lease will be up soon and although I love my apartment, should I move? Will lil dog ever eat the new treats or is he just going to carry them around?     So many questions.

I will remember this past year for the kindness of friends and family. For this I am truly grateful. From my friend that stayed with me for a week to keep me from straining my knee to the neighbor that offers to carry my laundry up the stairs to the machines. My sister who has not only kept me financially afloat right now but is my best friend that helps keep my spirit afloat. My son who proves to me that he is a good man often self-sacrificing and always generous.  And my lil dog that always can make me laugh and who is always willing to give a cuddle.

Then there is you. You come by here and read my posts, leave your comments and allow me into your life through your post. I have been a privileged to read about your holidays and celebrations, your good days and your bad days. I have enjoyed your pets and kids through the pictures you post. Some how I feel as if I am part of your life and important some way. It has been my pleasure to be your Friend here in Spaces.

Let’s toast the new year in with the heart and courage of the lion and purr with the contentness of the kitten.

 

I wish you all a healthy and prosperous new year.

 

9 responses »

  1. ╰☆Chloe☆╮

    yeah…I am located in the east…so I will be earlier than u to say hello to the new year;)Hope u fine today!sunshine

    Reply
  2. I am very thankful to have you for a friend! HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

    Reply
  3. Nice post! I like the feline metaphor.Good wishes for the new year to you.

    Reply
  4. While I try to avoid looking in mirrors as much as possible, (darn thing gets scared and runs down the hall), I try to be a lion and face those things that crop up each year. Your friendship has meant a lot to me and I truly cherish it. We had our shared experience of spite from another this year, but the friendship that came of it makes it just a blip in the big picture. Wendy,I do wish for you a truly good New Year.Love ya,Al

    Reply
  5. Sometimes I feel that as much as anything the New Year means paying forward everything I can that was of true value from the year(s) before. I too face a lot of questions concerning the year to come but only know to push forward and keep faith in the fact that good guys (and gals) may finish last sometimes but they always finish best! Blessings to you this coming year as well..may it be the best year for you ever!

    Reply
  6. Gosh, this year has been topsy turvy. Not a great one to look back on. I guess I\’ll look forward and hope the new year is shining and hopeful. Let\’s think of the good things to come to us and maybe they grace us with good fortune.

    Reply
  7. Wishing you a bright new year in 2009 full of love,peace and prosperity. Nice getting to know you too..many happy returns.. : )

    Reply
  8. Hi Wendy Happy New year!didn\’t come back for some time. kitten or the lion ? a good question.you could be a kitten for family and friend, but for challenges,surely you will be a lion!wolf

    Reply
  9. Lizzie-Beth4Him

    You\’ve had quite a roller coaster year, Wendy, along with the joys of family and friendship, and I wish you the very best for a Happy New Year! I feel much as you do in being grateful for my family and friends, including here on "Spaces" and I\’m thankful to have you as a friend. Hugs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

