RSS Feed

Charles Schultz Philosophy

 

The following is the philosophy of Charles Schultz, the creator of the "Peanuts" comic strip. You don’t have to actually answer the  questions. Just read straight through, and you’ll get the point.

1. Name the five wealthiest people in the world.

2. Name the last five Heisman trophy winners.

3. Name the last five winners of the Miss America.

4. Name ten people who have won the Nobel or Pulitzer Prize.

5. Name the last half dozen Academy Award winner for best actor and actress.

6. Name the last decade’s worth of World Series winners.

How did you do?

The point is, none of us remember the headliners of yesterday. These are no second-rate achievers. They are the best in their fields. But the applause dies. Awards tarnish. Achievements are forgotten. Accolades and certificates are buried with their owners.

Here’s another quiz. See how you do on this one:

1. List a few teachers who aided your journey through school.

2. Name three friends who have helped you through a difficult time.

3. Name five people who have taught you something worthwhile.

4. Think of a few people who have made you feel appreciated and special.

5. Think of five people you enjoy spending time with.

Easier?

The lesson: The people who make a difference in your life are not the ones with the most credentials, the most money, or the most awards. They are the ones that care.

The Challenge: Make a difference in someone’s life today.

  

"Don’t worry about the world coming to an end today. It’s already tomorrow in Australia." (Charles Schultz)

 

 

12 responses »

  1. Excellent post.  Yes, I will never forget my 5th grade teacher.  Her name was Miss Whitley and she was so kind to me, a shy girl from a large poor family.

    Reply
  2. I love this blog.  Thanks for sharing.  Big Hugs

    Reply
  3. Amen to that.  These are the things that are important.   These are the people that make us what we are.  We\’ve got a movie, "Facing the Giants",Deals with this same type of topic.  If you havn\’t seen it you should.  Thank you for sharing this.  Hugs to you.
    P.S. Thanks for the comments on my blog.  Laughter is great medicine!!!!!     

    Reply
  4. That\’s really an amazing exercise to think about reality!  That\’s awesomely true!

    Reply
  5. That was very enlightening and ties right in with what I am learning in my first class at school.  With that I had better get my behind to the library in Australia I am already a day behind.  Have a great day!
     
    Danielle

    Reply
  6. Excellent blog. I also think it is important to be open to let people do good things for you. Example: I was delivering mail the other day, concentrating on the road and my surroundings, when a little girl came running out to the mailbox that was my next stop. Now, in my head, I\’m thinking,Please don\’t trip and fall.I don\’t want to run you over. She had long blonde hair and big brown eyes. She stopped beside the box and watched me. I opened the box and she had put two little flowers in there for me. She just wanted to make me smile. I thanked her and gave her the mail to bring up to the house. She made my day. How lovely. I\’m just sayin\’. Hugs

    Reply
  7. This was an exceptional blog.  I love Schultz, his comics, and philosophy.  May I say how much I appreciate YOUR friendship?   TONS!  Now I will get caught up on the rest of your blogs.  Wishing you a wonderful weekend filled with meaningful moments.
     
    Love and hugs,
    Beth  (The one with the Lizzie)  =)

    Reply
  8. this is a so meaningful quiz series.
    i couldn\’t answer none of the questions in first quiz series completely, while i can give accurate to each of the question in second set of quizs.
     

    Reply
  9. Having thoughtful, considerate friends like you make my days a little better each day I power up this PC.  You are what MSN spaces is all about.  Thanks for being such a wonderful compassion person and loyal distant friend.  Hug a puppy for me OK?  That way you can smell sweet puppy breath.  Yep, I love my Yorkies, and they really do care for me too.  Can\’t imagine our home without them. 
     
    John  

    Reply
  10. This is a wonderful blog Rosebay. He was a wise man, thank you for sharing.
    Hugs
    Sherry

    Reply
  11. So true…

    Reply
  12. A lot of meaning here…good job with this post…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

