RSS Feed

Sunken Gardens

Last weekend we went to the botanical garden – Sunken Gardens. My grandmother took me there often when I was a child. It has been over 20 years since I have been there. Funny how you never go to the attractions that are in your own back yard.  It took us over an hour to go through the whole place. You may be familiar with the common house plant, pathos – the leaves on them at the garden were HUGE, I mean about a foot across, and I thought mine were big (a bit larger than my hand).

It has been an landmark in our city since 1935. Originally a lake that was 15 feet below the street, George Turner bought it, drained it, brought in soil and began planting. He brought in plants from all over the world. It was a beautiful place, mostly shaded – therefore, most pictures did not come out. But a few did.

The Gardens currently contain over 500 species of tropical and subtropical plants amidst pools and cascading waterfalls, lushly planted in a collection of more than 50,000 tropical plants and flowers. They include a Japanese garden, cactus garden, and butterfly garden, and Chilean flamingos. Plants include bougainvilleas, royal palms, water lilies, shrimp planta, and fruit trees. The garden atmosphere is peaceful and many of the plants are quite large (compared to typical specimens) due to their long history of protection and cultivation.

 

Me playing hide and seek – You found me.

  Pretty flowers  

  Flamingos

 

Frogs on lily pads

 

Now that my plants are taking over the walkway, maybe the gardens want some to plant. You can see that they are reaching over six feet tall. I planted them when they were a foot high and a foot apart a year and a half ago. It is a constant task to thin them out and trim them away from the walkway. If I knew they were going to grow that fast, I may have chosen something else BUT they are beautiful. And they offer some privacy for me from the pool.

Oh Lizzie-Beth – this is for you. They are not easy critters to get a good photo of.

Well I hope you enjoyed our trip to the Gardens. It was a great day. Heading out for a blog walk. See you in the comments. 

 

7 responses »

  1. The gardens, both yours and Sunken Garden, looks so beautiful and peaceful. It is wonderful to have gradens that have various plants from around the world so we could learn and appreciate. I hope we have our own garden something. I would love to plant fruits, vegatables, flowers, and herbs.

    Reply
  2. Gardens are a lot of work, but for the most part it is relaxing work. I love freshly tilled dirt and the smell of a garden growing.
    Hugs,
    Al

    Reply
  3. I did enjoy the trip.  The pictures are great!!

    Reply
  4. Oh my goodness..I would loved to have gone with you.  I love things like that and your own flowers are lovely.

    Reply
  5. It was a joy going along with you on the garden tour and I will be checking the link out when I finish my comment.  Your pictures are so lovely, from your visit, and from your own garden.  Thanks so much for putting up the lizard picture!  I can well appreciate it may not be easy to get a picture of a wild lizard on the run.
     
    You were a fish?  I wish I could have seen your answer choices…lol.
     
    Love and hugs,
    Beth

    Reply
  6. Hi Wendy,
     
    So glad you got to experience yet another beautiful day at the Gardens. Lovely photos.
     
    Take care and be well.
     
    Huggggsssss,
    Paula

    Reply
  7. how I would love to walk through that garden…enjoyed seeing it through your eyes…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

