RSS Feed

Animal Behavior

Posted on

I am a nature watcher. I like to watch any living breathing thing do its thing. Sometimes it is entertaining and sometimes it can be quite puzzling.

Dog Tales – Trash can chronicles.  How many ways to get into the trash by Lil Dog:

1. Open the cabinet where it is stored
2. Bang on the door to release the latch to get into the cabinet where the trash is stored
3. Move the stool then bang on the door to release the latch to get into the cabinet where the trash is stored
4. Move the stool, bang on the door, get into the cabinet and jump to get the bag hanging on the hook where the trash is stored
5. Move the stool, bang on the door, get into the cabinet, stand on the box of trash bags and jump to get the bag hanging on the hook where the trash is stored
6. Move the stool, bang on the door, get into the cabinet, WHAT?! NO TRASH! Wait there it is! Jump up and pull it off the countertop where the trash is stored
7. Move the stool, climb the stool, pull it off the countertop where the trash is stored
8. Jump on the chair, walk across the table, through the pass through window, onto the countertop where the trash is stored
9. Onto the back of the couch, jump onto the table, through the pass through window, onto the countertop where the trash is stored

Now the trash is outside all the time. Can you blame me? He still finds ways to get into it when I’m not looking. Check this out: http://www.dogbreedinfo.com/caught/caught.htm

Lizards – For two weeks now I have been watching lizards. One is on the inside of the porch screen and the other on the outside. Every day for two weeks now they seem to be dancing on the screen. They make an “S” pattern, curl up their tails then run. So the question is – Are they Romeo and Juliet or Caesar and Brutus? Lizzie-Beth should know the answer to my question. I understand that lizards are territorial. And it is mating season. I did find lizard eggs in a bucket a month ago and had baby lizards on the porch for awhile. So I was Googling (strange new word) and found this site http://www.todaysplanet.com/pg/beta/lizardlover/page21.htm  What a hoot!!!

Well I think I have said quite enough for one day. Have a great weekend everyone.

 

9 responses »

  1. You are soooo sweet and so cute!! 
    I had a Border Collie who got into the trash and within 4 days he was dead!  Be careful!!  Sad!! 
     
    I just needed to vent!!  I guess I still have issues….!  Trying to work on them. 
     
    Glad we are friends!!!!
     

    Reply
  2. What can I say except, I hope you have a great weekend.  😉

    Reply
  3. son and dil have a dog that always gets into the garbage…he\’s sick right now…was just talking to them…have taken him to the vet, but nobody knows for sure what\’s wrong with him…very lethargic and weepy eyes…he\’s on benadryl and some other medications…that dog is like family…we are all worried about him…

    Reply
  4. looking at the pics on your link…we had a dog once that climbed a chicken wire fence…couldn\’t keep that dog confined because he could climb…lol…

    Reply
  5. what a bunch of lizards!…lol…

    Reply
  6. Lizzie-Beth4Him

    Wendy,
     
    Our pets, and animals in general, are facinating to watch, aren\’t they?  You are a dog person, and I am a cat and lizard person, but we both love animals.  Dogs have their endearing ways, differences, personalities, and the same with cats, and lizards. 
     
    I do know how to tell the difference between male and female beardies, and would think it was similar with other lizards, but can\’t say definitely because I haven\’t checked on other types of lizards…lol.  With beardies, the male has two bulges on the inside of his tail close to the body, while the female has one bulge, more to the center, close to the body.  It is hard to tell whether a beardie is male or female till they are older.  I was wrong about Lizzie at first, thinking she was a male, because her head was large, till her body grew out more.  Males often have larger heads than females.
     
    Now you have me so curious about the lizards outside of your house and I am jealous wishing we had them…lol.  Can you take pictures to share?  Would you mind checking to see about the bulge thing too?  =)
     
    Love and hugs,
    Lizzie-Beth
     
    The links on your blog were wonderful to go to…thanks!  Such great photos of the dogs and ways of letting their people know they weren\’t happy…lol.  I especially enjoyed the iguana blog and pictures.  If I didn\’t have kitties I would let Lizzie have more of a run of the house.
     
    Like Bob said though…we do all need to be careful about what we leave around for our pets to get into… not realizing it may hurt them.  Certainly no one could blame you for leaving the trash outside.  =)  My kitties do not like Lizzie\’s smell and I would not allow her to roam without my keeping an eye on her.  

    Reply
  7. i had a cat once and it was called sophie if you wanted a long lie in the morning it would get itself on top of the wardrob and dive bomb you till you got up and feed her ..those were the days …

    Reply
  8. We must be related!!  Our minds are in the same place regarding nature.  Want to co-author a book?  BTW, I watch ants do their thing for hours on end…yep, to this day I still watch ants.  Who says retirement is boring?
     
    John

    Reply
  9. I love all wildlife but not marauders in my trash.  I had quite a few blogs up last summer over that.  I have \’em foiled now.  I thought it was dogs but it turned out to be raccoons. Those little suckers are smart!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

