RSS Feed

HE!! week

Posted on

So today is Friday and I should be at work. BUT I was told to take the day off. I have had too many projects going and too many bosses who want their project at the top of the list. I feel like the stew with too many cooks. Each boss thinks I have nothing else to do but their project.  Monday was horrible and I even called sis to rant. I don’t do that very often. I have grown used to living alone and rather enjoy it. No one that I have to clean up after, cook for, tell what/where I am. Yet it can get lonely when there is no one to talk to, clean up after, cook for… I think the sudden feeling of being alone is my friend’s fault (gotta blame someone).

Last week my friend from Michigan was here and we had a great week, walking the beach, dinner, even just running errands. The beach was nice with lots of shells. We had thunderstorms all week and that makes the water turbulent and the shells get washed up. Saw tons of the shells in the picture. They dig into the sand and at one point I was standing on a bed of them and they tickled my toes. They are coquina shells and my grandmother used to tell us kids she would make soup out of them if we collected enough. I think she was  trying to keep us busy LOL. Someone actually stole my shoes, just flip flops, I hope they really needed them. That didn’t spoil the fun though, we just had to find a beach bar that would let me in with no shoes AND we found one. But last Thursday (7/3) he jumped in his truck to head back. I was a little sad. Which was totally strange. This was not the first time, he has a business here and in MI and I’ve seen him leave 100 times before (well maybe not quite a 100) and it never bothered me. Now don’t go "assuming" things here. We are friends who enjoy each other’s company when we are together. No commitments, just dating, just friends.

Saturday I spent time at the pool. I have some pictures but I have to go to Walgreens and get them. It was a great time. People kept coming and I was staying. Met some nice new people. That’s what is fun about apartment life, always someone to meet. I have new neighbors that moved in over the weekend too. I haven’t met them yet but from what I’ve seen it is two couples. Each unit is a 2 bedroom 2 bath. When I was at the pool I talked to a lady in the building that is in another 2/2, my favorite apartment, and she says her lease will expire Feb-09. I don’t want her to leave since she is one of the other residents that plants flowers in front of her porch and takes some pride in the building. BUT it made me think that maybe by then I could move up to the 2/2. Although I would miss being right at the pool. I have only ten steps to get to the pool and enjoy so much looking out onto it. I could never quite figure out why the more expensive units, 2/2, have no view Who designed this place anyway?

Then Monday hit, hard. I was angry and frustrated at the job. It never got any better. Yesterday the proverbial sh** hit the fan and I was standing directly in front of it. So here I sit on Friday, whining to all of you instead of working. I do have one work related task that was assigned while I am home (of course). Making a list of each project and who assigned it. I screwed up, I know I did. Not a screw up to end the world, it could be fixed, but I screwed up all the same. No one expects more from me than myself. I strive for perfection although I know that is impossible. Two of my supervisors went to bat for me, I know they did. They told me that I was doing a good job but could tell I had too much going on. I even got a text from one after I left saying to take it easy and relax. So thoughtful. I went upstairs to see the cats and had a few beers with friends. I felt better after venting. And we had a good time.

On a lighter note… Lil dog and I walk the same area every day, twice. The last four days there has been a moma blue jay keeping an eye on us. I have heard that blues are mean and will even chase people but never saw it until this week. At first she just watched, then she swooped at lil dog. I talked to her saying we weren’t going to hurt her or her babies and she sat there, seeming to listen. Lil dog didn’t even know or care, he was too busy picking out an appropriate spot. By Wednesday she swooped down and pecked him on the but, THAT he noticed. He yelped a little, more out of surprise then anything. I had to laugh. Of course each time I took the camera out she was not there. 

I saw this wonderful plant this weekend. It is a shooting star hydrangea. Beautiful flowers and so right for the 4th. They wanted $20! No way! So I didn’t get it. I have way too many plants as it is. Maybe this week they have it marked down.

 

Well I must have been on a roll, didn’t know I wrote so much until I looked back.  Thanks for listening, I mean reading . I’m going for a blog walk. See you soon.

6 responses »

  1. I\’ll be back to comment on this!!

    Reply
  2. Thank you so much for the visit…me and Miss Catt say Gracias!  🙂

    Reply
  3. Holy carp-o-la! I jst wrote a book to you and now it disappeared. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.
     
    So nice to have you back, Wendy. I love my alone time and can hardly wait for my next trip. I have been married for 26 years and together for 29 ! I also believe that friends can make the heart grow "fonder"..thus the sadness. Being away for me balances my stressed out body from day after day after day of work. LOL. Everyone should have "alone" time. I didn\’t start vacationing alone until 2003…and since hubby does NOT fly..he chooses not to go..sooooooooooooo….Off into the blue yonder I go..alone. LOVE IT!
     
    Again nice to have you back. I am very familiar with the shooting star hydranges. They are lovely. Also am familiar with the shells you refer to. I am a S.C. coast lady, y\’all.
     
    Until next time..Keep Smiling.
     
    Huggggssss,
    Paula

    Reply
  4. You and I are more alike than I ever imagined!!  I relate, and react the same to, everything you wrote here.  That "lonely" thing is easier to deal with than having someone up your ass all the time – so keep enjoying being single!!
     
    You are a very real, honest person and I just wanted you to know that I appreciate that in you, and that, even if separated by a couple of thousand miles, I am honored to have you in my life.  Good friends sometimes come at you unexpectedly.
     
    Keep up the good work!

    Reply
  5. Lizzie-Beth4Him

    Rosebay,
     
    Thanks for stopping by and for your lovely comments. 
     
    I do remember my years after divorce…before remarrying many years later… and remember some lonely times… but like Kim… was more comfortable… and not feeling "ALONE" than when I was married to someone that didn\’t really "SEE ME" when he was there. 
     
    It was nice reading your blog and getting to know you a bit from it.  Bluejays can be bossy and territorial…but I do think that most, if not all, mother birds will protect their babies and do their best to keep intruders away.  Poor Lil dog!  Like yourself, I do enjoy flowers.  Hadn\’t seen that particular hydrangia either. 
     
    Wishing you a blessed weekend!
     
    L-Beth

    Reply
  6. I\’d want to stay in the condo next to the swimming pool, if it was me 🙂   And as for work, if it was me, i\’d get an even bigger fan, and point it in "their" general direction, if you kinda get my drift  😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

