RSS Feed

Mom’s death

Posted on
My mother passed away on Wednesday, September 26th. It was quite a shock. She wasn’t feeling well on Saturday so I took her home from my sister’s house. Sometime during the early morning of Wednesday she fell a sleep for her last rest. On Saturday I cleaned up her things and divided them up between us kids. Chris got a glass turtle, Amanda the glass swans and Jake the glass dog. Mom loved her trinkets and knick knacks. Just before leaving I went back to one of her jewelry boxes (she a more than one). Under the pile for earrings I found this aged yellowed paper with this poem I wrote to her when I was young and it seemed appropriate to read it for her memorial today.

To My Mommy:
I’m so glad you are my mother
I wish for no other
Through all the trials and the tears
You have been there through the years
Remember when I got a dog bite?
You were there to hold me with all your might
And when I skinned my knee
You were there to rescue me
There is no other
I love you so much as my mother.

I know she is happy now, up in heaven with her dogs. Love ya mom!

In Loving Memory
Sandra Lee Regler
May 1, 1945 – September 26, 2007

God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change,
the courage to change the things  I can,
and the wisdom to know the difference.
Living one day at a time; accepting hardship
as the pathway to peace.

10 responses »

  1. I know it has been tough and difficult to understand but God is now taking care of her. You were good to her over the years.

    Reply
  2.  
    Oh Wendy! Please accept my deepest condolences.
     
    ~Nooner~
     

    Reply
  3. very sad news

    Reply
  4.  
    Wendy – I\’m SO sorry. 
     

    Reply
  5. Hi Wendy – I\’m sorry about your loss. 

    Reply
  6. Oh Wendy.. I am so sorry, I understand how hard that must be for you.  If you need anything at all .. even just to talk, drop me a line.  I am sure the sudden unexpectedness of this is the hardest part.  I sure hope that in time your grief will lessen.  Please take good care of yourself. 
    Virtual hugs .. as always..
     

    Reply
  7. So sorry to hear the news.  Everything about the poem story is so sweet.
    My sincerest condolences and all my best to you~
     

    Reply
  8. Hi, just thought I would buzz by and let you know that I am thinking of you and hoping that time is helping you heal.
    Much love..
    & virtual hugs~

    Reply
  9. Dear Wendy,
    I am so very sorry about the loss of your beloved mother.  I am sending my sympathy along with a prayer that God will comfort you and the rest of your family.
    I still have notes and other little trinkets that my childred gave me when they were small.  They are precious to me as I know your mother treasured your note.  I am so happy you found it.

    Reply
  10. Wendy:
     
    I\’m so sorry to hear about your mother. I think that what you have done here is a lovely tribute. Remember all the best of your mother lives on in you.
    Cheers,
    T.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

