RSS Feed

The Gift

The gift

T’was the night before Christmas,
he lived all alone,
in a one bedroom house made of
plaster and stone.

I had come down the chimney
with presents to give,
and to see just who
in this home did live.

I looked all about,
a strange sight I did see,
no tinsel, no presents,
not even a tree.

No stocking by mantle,
just boots filled with sand,
on the wall hung pictures
of far distant lands.

With medals and badges,
awards of all kinds,
a sober thought
came through my mind.

For this house was different,
it was dark and dreary,
I found the home of a soldier,
once I could see clearly.

The soldier lay sleeping,
silent, alone,
curled up on the floor
in this one bedroom home.

The face was so gentle,
the room in such disorder,
not how I pictured
a United States soldier.

Was this the hero of whom I’d just read?
Curled up on a poncho, the floor for a bed?
I realized the families
that I saw this night,
owed their lives to these soldiers
who were willing to fight.

Soon round the world,
the children would play,
and grownups would celebrate
a bright Christmas day.

They all enjoyed freedom
each month of the year,
because of the soldiers,
like the one lying here.

I couldn’t help wonder
how many lay alone,
on a cold Christmas eve
in a land far from home.

The very thought
brought a tear to my eye,
I dropped to my knees
and started to cry.

The soldier awakened
and I heard a rough voice,
"Santa don’t cry,
this life is my choice;

I fight for freedom,
I don’t ask for more,
my life is my god,
my country, my corps."

The soldier rolled over
and soon drifted to sleep,
I couldn’t control it,
I continued to weep.

I kept watch for hours,
so silent and still
and we both shivered
from the cold night’s chill.

I didn’t want to leave
on that cold, dark, night,
this guardian of honor
so willing to fight.

Then the soldier rolled over,
with a voice soft and pure,
whispered, "carry on Santa,
it’s Christmas day, all is secure."

One look at my watch, and I knew he was right.
"Merry Christmas my friend, and to all a good night."

19 responses »

  1. Snata Takes the A Train is great. Wishing you a wonderful Christmas W. Trust you are doing fine. Hi to the dogs. Our love, Bruce and Sharon (Roscoe and Muggsie).

    Reply
  2. Just read your Dec. 14 entry re. pending sale on your house. Woo Hoo is right. That is greaaaaaaaat!

    Reply
  3. HO HO HO! Just stopping by to stick a comment in your blog stocking. I hope you have a wonderful Christmas!

    Reply
  4. Hi there, I hope you had a Merry Christmas!!!

    Reply
  5. All the best for you this Christmas! May Santa fill your stocking with a signed contract!

    Reply
  6. hey woman.. hope you had a fantastic Christmas!!

    Reply
  7. Hey Woman!!
    Hope you had a Fabulous Florida Christmas!!!
    Now have a safe and Happy New Year celebration.
    Ciao for now~

    Reply
  8. Hello, my dear!  Emily\’s here tomorrow!  Prepare yourself!  😀
     
    Any house news???

    Reply
  9. Yeah, any house news? 🙂
    Here\’s hoping you had a nice Christmas, Rosebay!!!
    ~Nooner~

    Reply
  10. I\’ve seen this poem before.  It\’s very sad.
    I hope you had a wonderful Christmas!!
    Hugs…Diane.

    Reply
  11. Stepmonster... some call me wicked

    That made me real sad….. where does he live and I\’ll send him a bed.

    Reply
  12. Hello RoseBay.  I have noticed your name as a friend of Ann\’s.  We are in good company are we not? Anyway I was curious about you and so dropped by.  I enjoyed the poem – I think that too many people do forget why we have the privileges we do.  They believe that Wars are over, far away and long ago.  November 11th becomes just another day off with pay. There are people risking their lives so that we may celebrate our beliefs – all and varied, so that we may be educated, so that our homes are warm, we are fed, gifts to celebrate the holidays and we even had enough to help others; and we have an array of opportunities for success and the freedom to chose our livelihood – and so many take this all for granted. There is an even uglier turn of events as too many young people feel entitled to receive this lifestyle we have earned but they want it without making any contribution and then have no coping skills when the real world says, \’No\’ you have to work for what you get.  This was my error and many other parents too. I hate that but I am learning now. How cavalier society has become when World War II was only a generation ago and there remain so many people presently living in war zones. I am glad you posted this beautiful poem.  What a lovely way to say thank you to the sacrifices others have made for us. I hope you will come by my garden.

    Reply
  13. Hi Wendy, I\’ve been absent for a while. I do hope your holidays are going well for you!? Also, many thanks for recognizing those who serve!

    Reply
  14. Hi there!  I hope you had a great Christmas!  Have a Happy New Year!!

    Reply
  15. Happy New Year!  I am wishing you all the best in 2007!

    Reply
  16. Wishing you a very happy New Year.

    Reply
  17. That was such a wonderful tribute for our men and women serving our country.  It certainly brings humilty to our thoughts here at home. 
     
    Just stopped by to wish you a happy new year and nothing but the best for 2007.
     
    Enjoy,
    Ed

    Reply
  18. Just came by to wish you a HAPPY NEW YEAR!!  I hope your first day of 2007 was a good one.
    Hugs…Diane.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

