RSS Feed

THIS IS WHAT LOVE IS ALL ABOUT!

THIS IS WHAT LOVE IS ALL ABOUT!

It was a busy morning, approximately 8:30 a. m., when an elderly 
gentleman in his 80’s, arrived to have stitches removed from his 
thumb. He stated that he was in a hurry as he had an appointment at 
9:00 am.

 I took his vital signs and had him take a seat, knowing it would be 
over an hour before someone would to able to see him. I saw him 
looking at his watch and decided, since I was not busy with

another
patient, I would evaluate his wound.

 
On exam, it was well healed, so I talked to one of the doctors, 
got  the needed supplies to remove his sutures and redress his wound.
While taking care of his wound, we began to engage in conversation. 

I asked him if he had another doctor’s appointment this morning, as he 
was in such a hurry. The gentleman told me no, that he needed to 
go to the nursing home to eat breakfast with his wife.

I then inquired as to her health. He told me that she had been 
there for a while and that she was a victim of Alzheimer’s Disease. As we 
talked,  I asked if she would be upset if he was a bit late. He replied 
that she no longer knew who he was, that she had not recognized him in five 
years now.

 
I was surprised, and asked him, "And you still go every morning, 
even though she doesn’t know who you are?"

He smiled as he patted my hand and said, "She doesn’t know me, 
but I still know who she is."
I had to hold back tears as he left, I had goose bumps on my 
arm, and thought, "That is the kind of love I want in my life."
True love is neither physical, nor romantic. True love is an
 acceptance of all that is, has been, will be, and will not be.

 

 

11 responses »

  1. Awwwww……I"ve heard that one before and every time I hear it, it warms my heart.
    Hugs…..Diane.

    Reply
  2. I bet one in 50 people really feel that type of love in their life time.   We think we know what love is but it is what you do and how you react to certain events that will truly show the love.
     
    Now on the lighter side, I love the video clip,  I watched it 4 times so I could see it all.  The best one I like is when the gal fell on the ice………  LMFAO.
     
    Have a great day, Oh, I blasted the King for the Sheriff Joe envy.

    Reply
  3. Aawwwhh!  **sniffling**  That\’s the sweetest!
     
    Glad you\’re back!  So how was Nashville?  I went there once and stayed at the Opryland Hotel.  It was amazing!  Had such a blast.  But the person I was with didn\’t like country music so I didn\’t make it to the Grand Ole Opry.  The next time I go. . . I\’m going. . . even if I have to go by myself.

    Reply
  4. Hi Wendy:
     
    I just wanted to say Hi. and peep in on your life a little! I hope you enjoyed Nashville as much as I did when I was there. I don\’t know why i bothered to get a hotel room I was never there.
     
    Cheers,
    T.

    Reply
  5. I really do like that one. Thanks for sharing it. 

    Reply
  6. Beautiful!!   Thanks!

    Reply
  7. Good Grief – so to avoid breaking out into tears I\’ll fight this off with the following:
     
    He tells her that, but he really doesn\’t know her.   He is actually a con artist and he found out that she has lots of money in the bank.  Since she has no family to speak of, he meets her every day in hopes that he will convince her to give him said money when she dies.  The joke is actually on him because she doesn\’t really have alzheimers – she just likes his company and as far as he is concerned, he can twist in the wind after she dies.

    Reply
  8. I got this in an e-mail…it\’s BEAUTIFUL!!
     
    HUGS!!  🙂

    Reply
  9. Hi Rosebay… I keep holding out hope to find this kind of love… .POOR hope… anyways.. .did you change your photo??  How was your trip to Nashville??
    Take care woman..
    Virtual hugs!!

    Reply
  10. This is one of my all time favourite stories.  You know the hubby and I have been together for a very long time now.  We have had our ups and downs, there was a time when the downs made me wonder you know?  But then I realized that standing right before me, was more than likely the man that would come to have breakfast with me years after I had forgotten who he was.  This is a beautiful story thank you for sharing it ~hugs~

    Reply
  11. *sigh*  I know what you mean about being incredibly busy…  Life just never slows down!!!
     
    We\’re excited about having a girl–it\’s *starting* to finally become a reality!  You\’d think that my big ole belly would make me think, "Hmmm, this is for real," but not really…  Again, we\’re so busy!  🙂  It\’s hard to find time to relax and really focus on the idea that in our near future, we\’re going to have another baby.  She\’s jumping around right now, almost as if she knows I\’m talking about her…  🙂  We\’re still working on names–boy is that ever a challenge!  I have my two picked out and every time I ask Jonathan what we\’re going to name her, he changes the subject…  lol  We may just have to meet her before we name her, huh?  😀
     
    I LOVE YOUR NEW PICTURE!!!!  I like it even better than your last one, and like you said, it looks lots more like you.  😀  I\’m so glad you posted it!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

