RSS Feed

Kakuro

Posted on

Well I am obsessing. About what? Kakuro I’ve been playing about 2 hours a night. I just start and keep going. How many of you have ever played? I know Donna has.  So I found a special place.

"Welcome to Kakuroholics anonymous. Our first aim is to help you through your Kakuro addiction taking it one day at a time.

Your first step is to admit you have a Kakuro addiction, thats right say it loud and say it proud"

My name is Wendy and I’m a Kakuroholic

 

Kakuro rules

The game of Kakuro is also called Cross Sum puzzle. Look at the game rules.

About the game:

The Kakuro puzzle is of different size of length and width, although most puzzles are squares.

The Kakuro has 3 different boxes.

  • A clue box – which has usually a number on the bottom and/ or on the right side.
  • A white blank box – that is where you fill in the a number between 1 and 9.
  • A block box – that is the black box.

Rule :
Place one digit from 1 to 9 in each empty box so that the sum of the digits in each set of consecutive white boxes(horizontal or vertical) is the number appearing to the left of a set or above the set. No number may appear more than once in any consecutive boxes.

Helpful box:

The Kakuro puzzle has a significant relation between the number of boxes and the sum of the boxes.
As the simple example the 3 on 2 boxes. This can have only one combination of numbers 1 + 2. Once mastering this table the puzzle becomes more logical to solve.

 

  

So to start off, go here http://www.kakuro.com/index.php for instructions and hints.

 
Here’s a puzzel to start you off with. Click on the picture and it will open a new window then you can print. I’ll post the solution Monday.

 

8 responses »

  1. Um yea… I don\’t do numbers… BUT it looks very interesting.. I am sure T could figure it out.  Take care.. have a great weekend!!
    Virtual hugs!

    Reply
  2. I\’M BACK!!….lol…I don\’t know if that\’s a good thing or a bad thing……lol.
    I don\’t think I would like the game of Kakuro….looks too much like math and I despise math…lol.
    I\’ve heard that it\’s easier to get into someone\’s site if they\’re on your msn messenger and you\’re on theirs.  So I\’m giving all my favourite bloggers my email addy and I\’m leaving up to their own discretion whether or not to add me.  It\’ bluecow51@hotmail.com.
    I\’m not a pest and I won\’t bug you everytime you come online…..lol.
    Hugs……Diane.

    Reply
  3. "My name is Nooner and I\’m a Rosebayholic".
    😉
    ~Nooner~ 

    Reply
  4. It\’s very addicting.  Like I need another addiction.  Why am I such a puzzle freak?  Now I\’m not only trying to just win the game, I\’m trying to beat my own time.  Why do I put myself under such undue pressure?
    "Hi!  My name is Donna and I\’m a Kakuro-aholic.  Help!!"

    Reply
  5. Hey there Wendy!  I haven\’t played that game.  But it looks interesting 🙂
    Hey, come check out my blog.  You\’ve always liked my pictures in the past, and I\’ve added up some brand news ones I just took in the past week, just like old times!

    Reply
  6. You just have the absolute best pictures….love the one of the great big german shepherd licking the little kitty…lol.
    Just thought I\’d pop my head in the door and say hello.
    Hugs….Diane.

    Reply
  7. This does look addictive but I\’ll try it (don\’t want to show it to Sharon; might not see her again).

    Reply
  8. OH NO NO NO NO Wendy! Dont you DARE get me hooked on something like that! Dont you know how pliable playdough like my brain is??!! Just cause you helped me so much, doesnt mean you can ruin me too. Ok, it does, sorry!
    Thanks again for all your brilliant help missy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

