RSS Feed

Spaces, troubles and thanks

Posted on
Spaces seems to be giving everyone a fit especially me. On Monday I did my usual post with a joke and a few pictures. Tuesday I noticed that the only hits I had were from search engines (why is everyone looking for dogs +bone?). I felt a little sad.  No one visited. So maybe I needed to change the video. I went to preview my Space and boom, shut down.  What? I opened IE again went to preview my Space and gone again. So then I was happy  to know I wasn’t being shunned and mad  at MSN. I took down the video, deleted my friends list, deleted the weathermodule, the horoscope module, each time checking my Space and every time, boom, gone. So where do we go when we have a problem? Well to Space Craft of course. Thankfully there was an entry that seemed to address my problem.
 August 16

Fixing IE crashes when visiting your Windows Live Space

Spaces PM Joe has written a great blog telling you how to fix IE crashes when visiting your Windows Live Space, to help those of you that reported experiencing this issue. 
 
Check out Joe’s step-by-step instructions here!
 
 

So then I went over to Joe’s to follow these directions:

This article is just a how to on how to fix the following problem:
 
When I try to view the main page (visitor mode) of my Windows Live Space in IE 6, IE crashes.
  OR
I can’t get to my Windows Live Space because Internet Explorer crashes when I try to access it.
 
This problem is typically caused by malformed HTML in one of the blog entries. Very complex web pages (like a Windows Live Space) that have a certain type of malformed HTML can cause IE 6 to get caught in a loop and crash. The HTML Filter in the Windows Live Spaces blog editor can be used to fix this problem as follows:
  1. Go to http://spaces.live.com/ and click the Sign In link in the upper right hand corner.
  2. Sign in with your Windows Live ID (formerly known as passport).
  3. This should take you to the Author view of your space, and IE should not crash. (If IE does crash at this point you may have a different problem and may need more help. If this is the case drop me a line at joseph.bono@hotmail.com).
  4. Click on the title for your Blog module to bring up the Editing Blog full page view.
  5. Click on the title for the first blog entry, which will take you to the preview page for this blog entry.
  6. Click the <HTML> link in the blog editor, then click the Publish entry button.
  7. Repeat steps 5 and 6 for each of your blog entries

These steps should fix this particular problem. If it doesn’t, please feel free to e-mail me at joseph.bono@hotmail.com.

 

Wow did that one take time. Lots of time as you can imagine. And I only did the last 5 entries. Still when I went to preview, boom, otta here. One of the comments gave me a glimmer of thought. So here is what I did to fix it.

I opened my last entry in the html mode, copied the code and pasted it into a text editor. I use Word but Notepad works too. I removed all the formatting code. Copied the text again then pasted it back into the entry in the html mode. It worked like a charm!

Example of too much garbage in the code:

                          <font face="Arial Black, Geneva, Arial, Sans-serif" color="#ff0000">

                          <span style="FONT-SIZE: 10pt; FONT-FAMILY: ‘Courier New’">

                          There was a preacher whose wife was expecting a baby

                          so he went before the</span></font><p>

                          <font face="Arial Black, Geneva, Arial, Sans-serif" color="#ff0000">

                          <span style="FONT-SIZE: 10pt; FONT-FAMILY: ‘Courier New’">

                          congregation and asked for a raise. After much

                          discussion they passed a rule</span></font></p>

                          <p>

                          <font face="Arial Black, Geneva, Arial, Sans-serif" color="#ff0000">

                          <span style="FONT-SIZE: 10pt; FONT-FAMILY: ‘Courier New’">

                          that whenever the preacher’s family expanded, so would

                          his paycheck.</span></font></p>

                          <p>

 How it looks after clean up:

<div>

There was a preacher whose wife was expecting a baby so he went before the congregation and asked for a raise. After much  discussion they passed a rule that whenever the preacher’s family expanded, so would his paycheck.

I hope this helps anyone that is crashing. I want to thank everyone for coming back and letting me know that you were here. From now on I will faithfully clean up my code before publishing. Oh and the joke, you would need to go to see Lee but his Space is not loading very well. If you need help with this, feel free to email me the code and I will do all I can to help.

Thanks again to everyone. Now I feel loved.

10 responses »

  1. Oh wow!  That DOES sound like it will take some time.  I\’ve actually got to work right now, but I\’ll check into it later when I have some time.  I\’ve heard that mine is causing some people some headaches too.  I deleted my friends, some of my photo albums and my clustermap hoping that would help, but nada. 
    Thanks for the helpful advice!

    Reply
  2. C\’mon everybody!  group hug!   🙂

    Reply
  3. Awww of course you are loved!!  Never a doubt!  
    Have an amazing day… sorry you had such a hassle!!
    Take care
    and
    virtual hugs~

    Reply
  4. Wow – I wouldn\’t have imagined that.  I just took the other route and deleted everything but my blog and now I\’m slowly adding things back in.  Last Friday I managed to destroy my lists to the point that if I went to the LISTS page, it just said "error".  So I managed to get my LINKS list up on the screen and I hit PRINT and as it was printing, I hit DELETE.  Thinking I could just re-create it.  So I reach over to the printer to grab it and guess what?  It was just a big green sheet – yep – didn\’t print any of the text.  Sometimes – life tastes like ashes.  What better way to clean up than to lose everything and start over.  It was actually refreshing in a strange way.

    Reply
  5. Wondering Rahab

    Thanks for the info.  I just stared using Mozilla Firefox instead of Internet Explorer and I didn\’t have any problems after that.  Go figure huh? WR

    Reply
  6. Yeah Kakura is addicting.  The first time I checked it out, I was playing with it while I was supposed to be working (sorry DeWitte), but got frustrated because I really did have work to do and saw that it wasn\’t as easy as a five minute Sodoku puzzle.  So last night, I tried a second time and solved it in 8 1/2 minutes.  I was so excited!!!!  8 1/2 minutes might be long for somebody else, but for me, I was just happy to solve it at all.  I\’ll work on my time later.
    Thanks for the new addiction.

    Reply
  7. I just opened my Messenger and added you!!!  I was half-hoping you\’d be online, but then again, I\’d rather that you\’re either home or on your way there.  😀 
     
    I have had very few problems since deleting my video player–I miss posting cute videos, but I REALLY don\’t miss the problems with loading.  🙂 
     
    I\’d stay and write more BUT!  I have got to get ready for Enrichment tonight (fun social church stuff).  😀

    Reply
  8. hey babe. thanks for stopping by! good rain today. U2?

    Reply
  9. Hi,
     
    Just saying hi. I am home from the trip to Texas and now off to Ca.  Thanks for the update info on spaces.
     
    Ed

    Reply
  10. That MSN …they\’ll get you every time!  I swear, anytime they make changes these things happen.  I\’m glad you\’re feeling the love again 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

