RSS Feed

Tomorrow Never Comes

Posted on

It’s been a tough week. I know I don’t share personal things very often. Several years ago I lost a good friend. We became the closest when she was dying. I know this sounds strange but I was happy to be able to rub her back or touch her hand knowing the little relief it gave her from the tremendous pain. The feeling I have when I think of that time only reminds me that I’m alive and glad to be so. This past week a friend lost someone close to her. So I dedicate this to all the people we have loved, and lost. No regrets Diane. Love ya!

 
For Mary and Dianne and John Gregory:



Tomorrow Never Comes

by Norma Cornett Marek


If I knew it would be the last time,
That I’d see you fall asleep,
I would tuck you in more tightly,
And pray the Lord your soul to keep.

If I knew it would be the last time,
That I see you walk out the door,
I would give you a hug and a kiss,
And call you back for just one more.

If I knew it would be the last time,
I’d hear your voice lifted up in praise,
I would tape each word and action,
And play them back throughout my days.

If I knew it would be the last time,
I would spare an extra minute or two
To stop and say, "I love you,"
Instead of assuming you know I do.

So just in case tomorrow never comes,
And today is all I get,
I’d like to say how much I love you,
And I hope we never will forget.

Tomorrow is not promised to anyone,
Young or old alike,
And today may be the last chance,
You get to hold your loved one tight.

So if you’re waiting for tomorrow,
Why not do it today?
For if tomorrow never comes,
You’ll surely regret the day

That you didn’t take that extra time,
For a smile, a hug or a kiss,
And you were too busy to grant someone
What turned out to be their one last wish.

So hold your loved ones close today,
And whisper in their ear,
Tell them you love them very much, and
You’ll always hold them dear.

Take time to say, "I’m sorry,"
"Please forgive me," "Thank you," or "It’s OK."
And if tomorrow never comes,
You’ll have no regrets about today.

7 responses »

  1. Links check out ok,I\’m moving you to members now

    Reply
  2. Sorry about your friend…I can tell you are missing her…
    I enjoyed my visit…thanks for stopping by to visit with me…come again…

    Reply
  3. Thank you for sharing that poem. I have to go cuddle with my husband and daughters now…

    Reply
  4. So sad, Rose.  I hope your friend is feeling better…..

    Reply
  5. I just love that poem.  Thank you for sharing it and for the reminder.
     
     

    Reply
  6. Thanks for sharing your poem and hope today is finding you feeling a bit better.

    Reply
  7. How sweet.  Thank you so much for the tribute to my friend, Greg. 
    It\’s truly a beautiful poem – one we should all read more often.
    Thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

