RSS Feed

tenjewberrymuds

To get the full effect, this should be read aloud. You will understand what ‘tenjewberrymuds’ means by the end of the conversation.


The following is a telephone exchange between a hotel guest and
room-service, at a hotel in Asia, which was recorded and published in the Far East Economic Review:

Room Service (RS): "Morrin. ; Roon sirbees."

Guest (G): "Sorry, I thought I dialed room-service."

RS: "Rye..Roon sirbees..morrin! Jewish to oddor sunteen??"

G: "Uh..yes..I’d like some bacon and eggs."

RS: "Ow July den?"

G: "What??"

RS: "Ow July den?…pryed, boyud, poochd?"

G : "Oh, the eggs! How do I like them?
Sorry, scrambled please."

RS: "Ow July dee baykem? Crease?"

G: "Crisp will be fine."

RS : "Hokay. An Sahn toes?"

G: "What?"

RS:"An toes. July Sahn toes?"

G: "I don’t think so."

RS: "No? Judo wan sahn toes??"

G: "I feel really bad about this, but I don’t know what ‘judo wan sahn toes’ means."

RS: "Toes! toes!…Why jew don juan toes? Ow bow Anglish moppin we bodder?"

G: "English muffin!! I’ve got it! You were saying ‘Toast.’ Fine. Yes, an English muffin will be fine." 

RS: "We bodder?"

G: "No…just put the bodder on the side."

RS: "Wad! ?"

G: "I mean butter…just put it on the side."

RS: "Copy?"

G: "Excuse me?"

RS: "Copy…tea…meel?"

G: "Yes. Coffee, please, and that’s all."

RS: "One Minnie. Scramah egg, crease baykem, Anglish moppin we bodder on sigh and copy….rye??"

G: "Whatever you say."

RS: "Tenjewberrymuds."

G : "You’re very welcome."

 

SO, Spacee friends tenjewberrymuds for reading!

8 responses »

  1. I\’ve been in situations like that! So very true! Supposedly there was a survey taken a few years ago where they asked subjects from all over the world to listen to recordings of people speaking English with different accents. Can you guess which group of people are easiest to understand speaking English by the majority of people from around the world? If you thought British, you\’d be like most people, but the answer is "nope!" The group of people easiest to understand speaking English, regardless of accent, was … East Indian! True story! Learned it in one of my Communications classes in college.My favourite Subway sandwich is the roast beef on honey-oat bread 🙂

    Reply
  2. W: That was way too hard for me to pronounce. lol Looks like it will be a fall convention and we wont be celebrating BD\’s.

    Reply
  3. 😀 That was a stretch! I could NEVER have figured out what that meant. Scooter and I are up in the middle of the night–he\’s feeling better, but neither of us can sleep… :S Good thing tomorrow\’s Saturday–Scooter\’s Daddy\’s home!! And he thought he was going to be able to get some homework done… lolHow are YOU feeling?

    Reply
  4. I have seen this one before and its still great. There is an audio of this out there some place. It is even better than reading it. heheheehehe SeanPS: I stole one of your videos hope you dont mind.

    Reply
  5. have a good weekend 🙂

    Reply
  6. Oh… that was cute. One of my mother\’s ex- husbands was from the Phillipines and while he spoke English quite clearly, some of the older members of his family were very hard to understand sometimes. This reminded me so much of conversations I had with them. Thanks for the giggle.

    Reply
  7. Hugsssssssss Wendy Rose,That was cute. I have those kinds of conversations with my husbands Grand mother. She speaks French. lol Have a great Sunday. It is cold and rainy here. So, i\’m just keeping inside. Love ya.Rosemary xoxo

    Reply
  8. Hiya!
     
    Thanks for visiting, and for this link… Funny!
     
    I\’m really not sure where my own version of "tanjuuberrymsuh" came from… I thought it was an original…mebbe not… No matter.
     
    This is a funny post. I think I might have actually stayed in this hotel – mebbe THAT\’S where it came from! *laughing*
     
    ~(:=0)
     
    steve

    Reply

Leave a Reply

